I’ve watched this film a thousand times, searching every frame for a glimpse of your face. Sometimes, it seems like you just left yesterday... other times, it seems like an eternity. After all this time, would we even recognise each other?

I try to imagine what you’ve been through.

Do you remember the holiday we took in Egypt? Do you remember when we sat in that café on the Nile, watching the sun set on the Sahara? I never expected to find such peace, such serenity, so far away from home. I tried to memorise every detail: the apple-scented smoke of a bubbling sheesha pipe, the evening call to prayer. Even then, I knew this serenity couldn’t last.

I look at this young man, and try to imagine you sharing a glass of mint tea with him, in some dusty café on the Euphrates. Maybe he was once your friend. Maybe he’s now your enemy. Maybe he’s already dead.

I can hardly remember your face anymore.

Did you ever fulfill your dream, and finally visit the Holy Land? Did you go to Jerusalem, and pray for your brother?

It seems like this war keeps happening, again and again. Maybe it never really ends.

J’ai vu ce film mille fois, détaillant chaque image pour apercevoir ton visage. Parfois, il semble que tu n’es parti qu’hier seulement... d’autres fois, que cela fait une éternité. Après tout ce temps, je me demande même si je te reconnaîtrais.

J’essaye d’imaginer ce que tu as pu vivre.

Tu te souviens de nos vacances en Egypte? Te souviens-tu de ce café au bord du Nil, d’où nous regardions le coucher de soleil au dessus du Sahara? Je n’aurais jamais imaginé trouver tant de paix et de sérénité si loin de la maison. J’ai tenté de mémoriser chaque détail, la fumée aux essences de pomme d’une narguillé, l’appel à la prière du soir. Même alors, je savais que cela ne durerait pas.

Je regarde ce jeune homme, et essaye de vous imaginer tous les deux partageant un thé à la menthe, dans un quelconque café poussiéreux au bord de l’Euphrates. Etait-il alors ton ami? Est-il aujourd’hui ton ennemi? Peut être est-il déjà mort.

J’arrive à peine à me souvenir de ton visage.

As-tu réalisé ton rêve, et finalement visité la Terre Sainte? Es tu allé à Jérusalem, et prié pour ton frère?

Il semble que cette guerre recommence sans arrêt. Peut-être même ne s’arrête-t-elle jamais.